top of page
  • Shantel Pierce

INTRODUCTION!

Updated: Dec 1, 2021

Meet Shantel Pierce:

The Voice Behind A Rise of the Female Gaze

10/06/2021


Hi everyone! My name is Shantel Pierce, a third-year student at the University of Wisconsin- Eau Claire studying English: Critical Studies of Literature, Film and Culture.


Home for me is the small town of Minocqua, WI. Minocqua is a quaint neighborhood that many urban tourists go to escape their city life. Here, everyone can wake up to the sweet songs of chickadees, whose melodies became the sound track of my youth; as well as see our deciduous trees, whose vivid colors have painted every memory of my childhood.


You can't help but find yourself awed by Minocqua's beauty. Take a glimpse for yourself!


I admit that growing up in Minocqua has been a blessing. This reality truly hit me my senior year of high school, when I began my college search. During this process, the thought of leaving home plagued my mind. Would I ever find a college that reflected Minocqua's beauty? Will I ever find another place that feels like home?

 

Fortunately, I was able to find a piece of home at the University of Wisconsin- Eau Claire (UWEC).


At Eau Claire, I could hear the similar chatter of birds that greeted me every morning back in Minocqua. I could also see the trees that mimicked the same color palette of the ones back home. In this instant, I knew I was home.


 

Although I originally chose to attend UWEC because of its aesthetic appeals, I also recognize that it was the best decision for me academically. Professors at UWEC care about their student's physical and mental well-being. They also care about the quality of our education. I received the most support at UWEC during the spring of my sophomore year.


My sophomore year of college is when I officially declared English as a major. Prior to this decision, I knew I always enjoyed writing, but I was unaware of my own potential in the field. Fortunately, I had the privilege of working with professors who recognized this potential. These professors opened opportunities to establish my name as a writer, as well as opportunities to improve my writing skills and techniques.


Amongst these opportunities was the McNair Program. The McNair Program is an organization for underrepresented first-generation college students to conduct research at the graduate level. It is because of this program that I have the opportunity to argue for the presence of the female gaze in modern coming-of-age films and how this perspective can impact America's youth.



46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page